Houston County

Houston County was the 51st county formed in Georgia and was created in 1821 through a treaty signed with the Creek Indians. The county was named for Governor John Houstoun and was originally spelled “Houstoun.” Perry, the county seat and geographic center of the state of Georgia was incorporated in 1824 as Houston’s first official town.Houston County has grown in population from 105,808 in 1998 to a current population of 146,136. Eighteen public schools (K-12) have been recognized as Georgia Schools of Excellence and three schools have been named National Blue Ribbon Schools.

Peach County

The Georgia General Assembly approved a constitutional amendment to create Peach County from parts of Houston and Macon counties on July 18, 1924. Georgia voters ratified the proposed amendment on Nov. 4, 1924, creating Georgia’s 161st and last new county and ending a long struggle between neighboring communities. Peach County is home of the largest employer, Blue Bird Corporation with over 1,600 employees. Blue Bird is known to be the world’s largest producer of school buses and one of the most luxurious recreational vehicles, the Wanderlodge.

Macon County

Macon County is a county located in the U.S. state of Georgia. As of the 2010 census, the population was 14,740. The county seat is Oglethorpe. The Macon County Courthouse is located in Oglethorpe, Georgia.

Bleckly County

The county was named for Logan Edwin Bleckley, a soldier and Justice of the Supreme Court of Georgia. The state constitutional amendment to create the county was proposed by the Georgia General Assembly on July 30, 1912, and ratified November 5, 1912. Bleckley County was formerly home to Middle Georgia College, the oldest two-year public college in the nation. In 2013 it merged with Macon State College to become Middle Georgia State College.

Macon Bibb County

Bibb County is a county located in the U.S. state of Georgia. On July 31, 2012, by a margin of 57% to 43%, voters in the county approved a measure to consolidate Bibb County with the county seat, Macon and dissolve the government of the only other incorporated municipality in the county, Payne City; however, the dissolution of Payne City is currently on hold.Robert Reichert is to be the first mayor of Macon-Bibb starting January 1st, 2014.As of the 2010 census, the population was 155,547.Bibb County is part of the Macon Metropolitan Statistical Area.